My Natural Skincare Routine

This is a little different from some of my initial posts but for people out there who suffer from acne, I want to share some of the things I have been using to keep it under control – hopefully this helps you too. This could also be helpful for anyone just looking to make the switch to a more natural skincare routine.

Me now (makeup free), with less acne and breakouts. Most of my dark spots have disappeared too (pretty much all gone on my forehead yay!!) 🙂 .

20170418_222408(0)

In the past I’ve used Proactiv, which cleared up my skin for a short while, but it always just came back. I tried using different drug store products (Neutrogena, Nip + Fab,
Clearasil etc.) which were a fraction of the cost of Proactiv, but still no luck. All I wanted was clear skin! So after my failed attempts of finding a good over the counter product, I decided to see my doctor. She gave me a prescription for Clindoxyl, which is a gel that should be applied daily before bed. This, she said, could clear up my acne over time.

The product was fabulous. Any trouble areas I applied it to before bed, would be noticeably reduced in the morning. Inside the gel is clindamycin and benzoyl peroxide. Clindamycin is like an antibiotic and benzoyl peroxide is a peeling agent (also antibacterial). The only thing I didn’t like about it was that it would lighten/bleach all of my pillowcases, and a non-medical ingredient which is added is methylparaben – I like to avoid the use of parabens in anything I use.

I now wanted to find something that worked great, but didn’t contain any harmful ingredients.

Well, fast forward, and I seem to have found just that.

There are 5 natural products that I have been using daily/weekly and they have been helping my acne (skin in general) so much.

1. African Fair Trade Society: Pure Black Shea Butter Soap $5.99

The soap contains activated charcoal as its key ingredient. It also contains coconut oil and shea butter, which moisturizes as you cleanse. I wash my face with this before bed, and just splash my face with some cold water in the morning. If my face is a little oily when I wake up (rarely now), then I’ll use a bit of this soap and some warm water. This cleansing bar is saving my skin.

soap

http://www.africanfairtradesociety.com/product/original-black-soap-unscented/

2. Derma E: Purifying 2-in-1 Charcoal Mask$19.50

I use this mask once a week, as it can dry out your skin it is best not to use it on a daily basis. It clears out my pores so well! It also serves as an exfoliater since it contains apricot seed powder (grainy but not too harsh) to remove dead skin cells. For anyone looking for an excellent face mask which is natural, I highly recommend this one.

derma

https://dermae.com/products/purifying-2-in-1-charcoal-mask

3. Aura Cacia lemon essential oil$6.05

I use couple drops of this oil (at night) in combination with my moisturizer, and this has helped to clear up my dark spots/marks from my acne. I would not use this in the morning, or when you’re outside, since you’ll be more sensitive to sunlight with this oil on. I’ll probably stop using this eventually, as I won’t need to once all my spots have vanished.

aura

https://www.auracacia.com/single-essential-oils/le-o/aura-cacia-organic-lemon-essential-oil-0-25-fl-oz

4. Wheatgrass Skin Recovery Cream $30

This cream is wonderful guys!! A bit pricey, but considering that it’s healing, natural, and has anti-aging properties, it’s so worth it 🙂 . It’s the only moisturizer I use (other than the coconut oil I occasionally slather on my body). After I cleanse my face with the black soap, I’ll apply it generously, and my skin feels absolutely wonderful. Also it doesn’t clog my pores, yaay!

wheatgrass

https://www.drwheatgrass.ca/recovery-cream

Well, I hope this helps some of you 🙂 . Of course I didn’t mention all of the wonderful ingredients that are contained in each of these products, but be sure to visit the websites to read some more on the product details. You could probably find most, if not all of these products in a natural foods/product store, near you.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

